Skip links

Driver's Education

Elevate Academy Driver’s Education

Director: Lisa Velasquez

For more information please contact:

Pam Howard
(208) 880-9695
driversed@elevate208.org

We are now full through our summer program.

Registration will open on June 5th for our next sessions starting 2024-2025 school year.  See Session Schedules Tab.

We do accept out of district students.  Students from any school may sign up for any class location.

 

FEE:  $225

STEP #1 Obtain Permit

STEP #2 Register Online

If you have any questions about the upcoming program please contact Pam Howard

Register For Your Session Access The Idaho Driver's Handbook

HOW TO OBTAIN YOUR DRIVERS PERMIT

If the student’s last name is different from that of the parent/guardian, appropriate records should be made available that provides proof of the parent’s/guardian’s relationship to the student. Step-parents cannot be liability signers unless legal adoption papers from the court are provided.

Students MUST be Fourteen Years Six Months (14 1/2) years old on or before the day they purchase a driver’s permit.

The student and his/her parent or guardian together must take the following items to their local Drivers License bureau. Caldwell is located at 6107 Graye Lane, (208)454-7487. Any DMV can issue the permit.
Please instruct them to send the permit to Elevate Academy Drivers Ed Program.

  • A “Verification of Compliance” form from the school. Students can secure this from their school office.
  • An original, state certified birth certificate. It must have the raised, embossed seal on it. Copies of the certificate will NOT be accepted. Hospital certificates will not be accepted.
  • Photo Identification. Both parent & student must provide photo ID (yearbook, student activity card, some school offices can print the photo on the VOC form if requested)
  • Social Security Number
  • $26.50 to pay for permit.

The student will be required to take an eye test. Their picture will be taken for the instruction permit.

DMV should give you 2 receipts.  1 full page will show the information that you paid for the permit with a statement number and the other 1/2 sheet will have the actual permit number and show where the permit was mailed to.  We need both receipts.  You will receive them back with a certificate and the permit upon completion of the class.

IDAHO STATE LAW & IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Idaho State Law mandates that in order to apply for a driver’s license, a student under the age of 17 must pass a driver education course with a grade of an 80% or better. A minimum course consists of at least 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and a recommended 6 hours of in-car observation.

The course is designed to teach correct positive attitudes toward driving and driving skills. The student will be required to pass three (3) phases of the course – driving, classroom work, and attitude. A failure in any one phase will fail a student in the course.

The driver education permit does NOT allow a student to drive an automobile except when accompanied by a certificated driver education instructor in an approved driver education vehicle. NO driving may be done outside the school program. Such driving will be cause for dismissal from the class for failure of attitude.

After successfully completing the driver education course, the student must complete the graduated driving requirements as outlined by the State Of Idaho. This would be 6 months after completing the course and 50 hours of driving (40 day/10 night). Then the student is ready to take the Idaho State Driver’s license examination and to the issued a driver’s license (day license: 15 year old; regular class D license: 16 years and older).

HOWEVER, neither parents NOR the student should assume that the student is a polished driver. Much more parental supervision is needed before a student is allowed to drive solo. It is each parent’s responsibility to determine whether and when a son or daughter can safely drive alone.

**Until age 18 (or completion of high school), students MUST be enrolled in a school in order to possess a valid drivers license**

Session 1

This session will be split into 2 classes.

25 students at Elevate Academy Caldwell (EAC)

25 Students at Marsing High School (MHS)

Must obtain permit from DMV prior to registration.

Mandatory Meeting for Parents/Students:

EAC – Aug 15th @ Caldwell Elevate

MHS – Aug 14th @ Marsing High School

 

Classes will be held:

EAC – Mon/Tues/Wed from 4:30 – 6:00 p.m. @ Caldwell Elevate from Aug 19th – Oct 2nd.

MHS – Mondays 5:00 – 6:30 p.m. & Fridays 7:30 – 9:30 a.m. @ Marsing High School from Aug. 19th – Oct. 11th.

Driving schedules will be created by individual drive instructor

Permits will be awarded on:  

EAC – October 8th @ 6 p.m. at Elevate Caldwell

MHS – October 15th @ 6 p.m. at Marsing High School

Session 2

Registration will open on June 20th 

This session will be split into 2 classes.

25 students at Elevate Academy Caldwell (EAC)

25 students at Elevate Academy Nampa (EAN)

Must obtain permit from DMV prior to registration.

Mandatory Meeting for Parents/Students TBD

  • Classes will be held from Oct 7th – Nov 19th
  • Driving schedules will be created by individual drive instructor

Permits will be awarded TBD

Session 3

Dates and information to be posted TBD!

XX Seats Available

Must obtain permit from DMV prior to registration.

Mandatory Meeting for Parents/Students TBD

  • Classes will be held from TBD
  • Driving schedules will be created by individual drive instructor

Permits will be awarded TBD